Conferences and conventions



Scope note(s)

  • Here are entered works relating to formal meetings or a gathering of delegates for discussion and information exchange on a topic or discipline.

Source note(s)

  • PAASH 2020 edition

Display note(s)

    Hierarchical terms

    Conferences and conventions

      Equivalent terms

      Conferences and conventions

      • UF Congresses
      • UF Assemblies

      Associated terms

      Conferences and conventions

        3 Authority record results for Conferences and conventions

        3 results directly related Exclude narrower terms
        Corporate body · 1993-1996

        In 1991, a group known as the Committee of Political Leaders was involved in setting the terms of reference for the Commission for Constitutional Development (Bourque Commission), which presented its report in April 1992. In February 1993, the Committee of Political Leaders and the Western Caucus of the Legislative Assembly met and decided to expand the original Committee, creating the Constitutional Development Steering Committee.

        Membership included the 14 members of the Western Caucus of the Legislative Assembly, three members from the Association of Western Tax-based Municipalities, and one representative each from the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation, Gwich’in Tribal Council, Sahtu Tribal Council, Metis Nation NWT, Dogrib Treaty 11 Council, women’s organizations (NWT Native Women’s Association and NWT Status of Women’s Council), and later, the South Slave Metis Tribal Council. The Deh Cho Tribal Council and Treaty 8 Tribal Council had the option to be involved as members but withdrew in favour of pursing their own processes.

        The Constitutional Development Steering Committee Management Society was incorporated in May 1994. The Society was created to implement the decisions of the Constitutional Development Steering Committee and coordinate financial affairs, research, and public activities.

        The Management Society was composed of members of the CDSC, including the chairperson, first vice-chairperson, and second vice-chairperson, who would function as the President, Vice-President, and Secretary/Treasurer of the Management Society. The Bylaws of the Management Society also provided for a staff Secretariat headed by an Executive Director. Steve Iveson was the first Executive Director, followed by Charles McGee, Sharon Hall, and Fred Koe.

        The CDSC operated independently of the government. Its aim was to work towards establishing a constitution and government structure for the western territory left after Nunavut was created in the east. Funding was sought from the federal and territorial governments. Small amounts received in 1993 allowed the CDSC member groups to produce a set of research reports outlining their ideas on constitutional reform. In 1994, with additional funding from the Government of the Northwest Territories and the federal government, the Constitutional Development Steering Committee organized community information meetings to prepare for the “First Constitutional Conference,” which took place in January 1995. The Conference brought together people from all 34 western Northwest Territories communities to discuss their ideas, discover areas of common ground, explore differences of opinion and identify where there was more work to accomplish. The Conference produced a twenty-two point emerging consensus that confirmed many of the principles and recommendations of the Iqaluit Agreement and the Bourque Commission. The Conference stressed the importance of proceeding with constitutional development and self-government as a parallel process.

        With little additional funding available through 1995, the CDSC assembled summary reports of work completed and cooperated with the Aboriginal Summit. The activities of the CDSC concluded in early 1996.

        Corporate body

        In 1976, the Commissioner approved the formation of the Status of Women Committee. In 1978, this committee was asked by the Commissioner to develop a territorial plan of action. This was in response to similar activities occurring at both the national and provincial levels in Canada. The aim of the plan of action was to promote equality between the sexes. The Status of Women Committee formed an ad hoc committee with representatives from each department to develop the territorial plan of action. The ad hoc committee examined numerous issues including: employment opportunities; education and training; family responsibilities; health and nutrition; political participation; communications and culture. A conference entitled "Breaking New Ground" was organized for May 2, 1979 in order for the ad hoc committee to gather the opinions of all interested Government of the Northwest Territories female employees. On May 23, 1979, because of the discussions of the ad hoc committee, departmental submissions and the recommendations of the "Breaking New Ground" Conference, a Territorial Plan of Actions was submitted to the Executive.

        Corporate body

        The Circumpolar Conference on Literary was held at the Explorer Hotel in Yellowknife from April 10 to 12, 1990. The purpose of the conference was the promotion of literacy and the exchange of information.