Fonds 348 - Constitutional Development Steering Committee fonds

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Constitutional Development Steering Committee fonds

General material designation

  • Textual record
  • Cartographic material
  • Graphic material

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

  • Source of title proper: Title based on creator of fonds.

Level of description


Reference code


Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1987-1996 (Creation)
    Constitutional Development Steering Committee

Physical description area

Physical description

81.1 cm of textual records
14 photographs
3 maps

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator


Administrative history

In 1991, a group known as the Committee of Political Leaders was involved in setting the terms of reference for the Commission for Constitutional Development (Bourque Commission), which presented its report in April 1992. In February 1993, the Committee of Political Leaders and the Western Caucus of the Legislative Assembly met and decided to expand the original Committee, creating the Constitutional Development Steering Committee.

Membership included the 14 members of the Western Caucus of the Legislative Assembly, three members from the Association of Western Tax-based Municipalities, and one representative each from the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation, Gwich’in Tribal Council, Sahtu Tribal Council, Metis Nation NWT, Dogrib Treaty 11 Council, women’s organizations (NWT Native Women’s Association and NWT Status of Women’s Council), and later, the South Slave Metis Tribal Council. The Deh Cho Tribal Council and Treaty 8 Tribal Council had the option to be involved as members but withdrew in favour of pursing their own processes.

The Constitutional Development Steering Committee Management Society was incorporated in May 1994. The Society was created to implement the decisions of the Constitutional Development Steering Committee and coordinate financial affairs, research, and public activities.

The Management Society was composed of members of the CDSC, including the chairperson, first vice-chairperson, and second vice-chairperson, who would function as the President, Vice-President, and Secretary/Treasurer of the Management Society. The Bylaws of the Management Society also provided for a staff Secretariat headed by an Executive Director. Steve Iveson was the first Executive Director, followed by Charles McGee, Sharon Hall, and Fred Koe.

The CDSC operated independently of the government. Its aim was to work towards establishing a constitution and government structure for the western territory left after Nunavut was created in the east. Funding was sought from the federal and territorial governments. Small amounts received in 1993 allowed the CDSC member groups to produce a set of research reports outlining their ideas on constitutional reform. In 1994, with additional funding from the Government of the Northwest Territories and the federal government, the Constitutional Development Steering Committee organized community information meetings to prepare for the “First Constitutional Conference,” which took place in January 1995. The Conference brought together people from all 34 western Northwest Territories communities to discuss their ideas, discover areas of common ground, explore differences of opinion and identify where there was more work to accomplish. The Conference produced a twenty-two point emerging consensus that confirmed many of the principles and recommendations of the Iqaluit Agreement and the Bourque Commission. The Conference stressed the importance of proceeding with constitutional development and self-government as a parallel process.

With little additional funding available through 1995, the CDSC assembled summary reports of work completed and cooperated with the Aboriginal Summit. The activities of the CDSC concluded in early 1996.

Custodial history

Scope and content

This fonds consists of textual records, photographs, and maps generated by the workings of the Constitutional Development Steering Committee (CDSC). The fonds is divided into two series: Governance and Administration. The records include meeting packages and minutes, incorporation documents and bylaws, correspondence, staffing information, member group reports, workplans, community meeting and constitutional conference planning material and reports, Aboriginal Summit material, news releases, and publications.

Notes area

Physical condition


The documents within the files are primarily arranged in reverse chronological order (original order maintained). The files themselves have been arranged by the Archivist based on governance group and administrative topic. Refer to the hardcopy box list for original order.

Language of material

  • English
  • Inuktitut

Script of material

  • Unified Canadian Aboriginal Syllabics
  • Latin

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

No access restrictions.

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Associated materials



Copyright unknown.

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number

Standard number

Access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions

Language of description

  • English

Script of description


    Acquisition area